Protecting Workers’ Pensions

Machinists from the Maritime region attended the Forum on How to End Pension Theft on October 4. New Democratic Party (NDP) MP Scott Duvall discussed the private members bill he is introducing in parliament to fix bankruptcy laws to stop large corporations from putting shareholders, banks, and creditors ahead of their employees when they file for bankruptcy protection.

L-R: Paul Benoit, Gwen, Kenny, Scott Duvall, Paul Gaudet, Chris Snelgrove, and Rick Arsenault.


Meet your new Maritime Council of Machinists Executive Officers!

The Maritime Council of Machinists met for their biennial conference on September 22 and 23 at the Delta Halifax. Stan Pickthall, IAMAW General Vice-President Canadian Territory attended the conference and swore in the newly elected executive officers.

Vice-President N.S
Vice-President N.B.
Trustee N.S.
Trustee N.S.
Trustee N.B.
Auditor N.S.
Recording Secretary
Grand Lodge Representative
Paul Gaudet
Donna Boudreau
Andrew MacFarlane
Richard McGuire
Sylvain Bainbridge
Chris Snelgrove
Chris Arseneau
Rhonda Duhme
Zita Hildebrandt
Rick Arsenault

Back Row (L-R) Zita Hildebrandt, Paul Gaudet, Richard McGuire, Andrew MacFarlane
Front Row (L-R) Chris Arseneau, Sylvain Bainbridge, Chris Snelgrove, Rhonda Duhme, Donna Boudreau
Stan Pickthall officiating (Photo credit: Carlos DaCosta)

April Meeting

Local Meeting

Date Wednesday, April 12
Time 6:00 p.m.
Where Quality Inn, Enfield

Since Good Friday is April 14 this year we have scheduled the April meeting for Wednesday.

Please note that meetings of Local Lodge 2797 are meant to be scent free

NSGEU Bargaining Update

2017 NSGEU-IAMAW Bargaining Team

2017 NSGEU-IAMAW Bargaining Team: (L-R) Gina Boyd, Rick Arsenault, Sandra Mullen, Jo-Ann Bailey, Robin MacLean, Darren McPhee, Leslie Long, Roswita Hildebrandt, Bruce Thomson (photo credit: Shannon MacIntyre)

Rick Arsenault, leading the NSGEU bargaining team of Jo-Ann Bailey, Gina Boyd, Roswita Hildebrandt, and Leslie Long, successfully negotiated the first IAMAW contract for the 55 members of the NSGEU Unit belonging to Local Lodge 2797. The IAMAW bargaining team is recommending acceptance.

The members will meet on March 27th to review the contract and vote for ratification.

IAMAW Bargaining Team: Rick Arsenault, Chief Negotiator, Jo-Ann Bailey, Gina Boyd, Roswita Hildebrandt, Leslie Long

NSGEU Bargaining Team: Robin MacLean, Chief Negotiator, Sandra Mullen, Darren McPhee, Shawn Fuller, Bruce Thomson